Meet Soniya Saluja one of the winners of the FFH Vegan Cook off

unnamed

Hi All,
I would like to introduce you to Soniya Saluja, one of the winners of the FFH Vegan Cook off event on my facebook food group Food from the Heart ,that ended on Jul 15th, 2015. She is one of team member of the blog – http://thebellyrulesthemind.net/. They also have a Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/dbellyrulesdmind.
She has laid out all her recipes in a healthy delicious way, but also to make them exciting for all the little ones to enjoy.. People fondly call her the “Crazy Appe Lady”. Please feel free to explore her blog to check out her easy to follow kid friendly recipes and leave comments on her site. I had an opportunity to interview her and have included relevant excerpts for your reference.

1.Me :How did your journey begin?
Her : Ever since I started cooking, I have always enjoyed it and I am very passionate about it. If I am upset about something, cooking makes me happy.

2. Me: How do you find time to manage your blog and how many hour’s you spend per day/week on an average on your blog?
Her : It certainly isn’t easy given the fact that I have my hands full with a 4 yr old and a 8 year old. The best time for me to pursue my passion is while they are both at school. It gives me enough time to prepare the food, take pictures & draft the recipes. I land up spending about 9-10 hours a week.

3.Me: Please tell us about your blog and what’s the idea behind choosing your blog name?
Her : TBRTM is a contemporary food blog that celebrates healthy eating & smart food habits in your child & family to create a better you, a healthier you and a happy you. We are three authors, Anvita, Pallavini & myself that contribute recipes to the blog. All three of us share the same food philosophy. We strongly believe that if you eat healthy, you will think healthy and feel healthy. Healthy doesn’t have to be boring. We try to make our food fun, flavorful and inspiring. Ingredients are the building blocks of cooking. If you use healthy ingredients and can track it back to the source, they all have a place in your diet. If you can’t pronounce an ingredient on the food label, don’t buy it. Recreate the recipe using fresh ingredients. Eat real foods, not chemical additives and preservatives. Thus the name The Belly Rules The Mind. All the recipes on the site are prepared by us respectively. Our families have cherished them. Time and again are friends savor them too. We cook it, plate it, serve it and click it. We also like to like to host a lot of guests on our blog, so that our readers can enjoy a variation in cooking styles and different recipes.

4. Me: What’s the biggest challenge you faced in maintaining your blog?
Her : Our’s is a young blog. TBTRM will be celebrating it’s first birthday in Oct 2015. We average anywhere between 1500-2000 visitors on a daily basis. However for the amount of visits we get, its challenging to get that many users to engage with us. We understand most users are pressed for time. People like us on Facebook and Pinterest all the time, but what we would really like to do is have conversations with our readers. What they liked, what they didn’t like. What they want to see. If a trick worked for them or no. We want to get to know our fans in short. We have already started working on it. You will soon see us reaching out to our fans asking them for feedback in the next few days.

5. Me: What’s your hobby apart from blogging?
Her: I love reading,listen to music, long drives and shopping.

6. Me: Have you got the support you need from your family members to run your blog?
Her : Totally I get all the support from my husband and kids .They are my food critics too.

7. Me: Do you love to cook or the blogging aspect give you the push to dish out creative dishes?
Her : I love to cook, thus i am blogging. I love trying out new recipes and twisting and tweaking the older ones. Lucky for me that my family is pretty co-operatives and is willing to experiment to, so its a win win for all of us.

8. Me: We have heard that blogging is an easy way to make money online. Do you have some tips for the future bloggers who are interested in making money from the blog?
Her : Yes we have heard that blogging can be a profitable money making business. We haven’t monetized our blog yet. So we don;t have any tips to share at this point.

9. Me: Please give some Food Photography tricks to our members here.
Her: I believe that i am not a pro at taking pictures, but here is what I do. I use my DSRL and prefer to take pictures in natural light. It really brings out the natural colors very beautifully.I don’t like to edit a lot except for adding our watermark. Almost everytime I take a picture i learn something new.

10.Me: Please share your inputs about the group and suggestions to help us improving the group each day.
Her: I love the social networking with other amazing food bloggers. I have made so many friends and learnt heaps about cooking and food! Thank you FFH & everyone.

You can see her winning recipe by typing on FB search box – #FFHVeg Taro Root Croquettes.

Leave a Reply

